Founder & Lead Engineer, RAITHub
A custom LMS costs $40,000 to $300,000 or more on 2026 market figures. Cleveroad puts a basic learning app at $40,000–$70,000+ and a full-featured LMS at $150,000–$250,000+; ScienceSoft's range runs from $40,000 to $300,000+. Features set the number: roles, assessment, video, payments, integrations and AI. RAITHub publishes no rates, and quotes a fixed price after a free 15-minute audit.
This guide is for founders, training leads and product owners budgeting a learning management system (LMS): the software that holds courses, enrols learners, delivers content, runs assessments and records grades. Every dollar figure below is a market figure from a published source, labelled as such, not a RAITHub price. Where this post rates how much a feature adds, that is engineering judgement, and it says so. Whether to build at all is covered in how to build an LMS from scratch.
How much does it cost to build an LMS in 2026?
Published guides cluster around three tiers. These are market figures from the sources named, checked on 29 September 2026.
| Scope | Market range | Timeline | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic learning app: content delivery, user profiles, quizzes, progress tracking | $40,000–$70,000+ | 3–5 months for a basic edtech MVP | Cleveroad, June 2026 |
| Custom MVP with multiple roles or advanced workflows | $70,000–$150,000+ | Not stated separately | Cleveroad, June 2026 |
| Full-featured LMS: analytics, payments, video tools, integrations, administration | $150,000–$250,000+ | 6–9+ months for a custom LMS | Cleveroad, June 2026 |
| Custom LMS for a midsize business: implementation, data migration, HRIS and single sign-on integration | $40,000–$90,000+ | Not stated | ScienceSoft (undated page) |
| Custom LMS for a large enterprise: adds CRM or ERP integration, multi-tenancy, multilingual support, AI | $90,000–$300,000+ | Not stated | ScienceSoft (undated page) |
Platform choice moves the number too. Cleveroad's platform breakdown puts a web portal at $29,000–$60,000+, a cross-platform app at $45,000–$83,000+ and native iOS plus Android at $74,000–$139,000+. A web-first LMS is the cheaper starting point, and most learners can use it on a phone.
Both sources are vendors describing their own markets, and neither is a quote for your product. Use them to sanity-check a proposal, not to set a budget.
What does each LMS feature add to the cost?
Some features are forms and lists; others are systems with their own rules, edge cases and tests. The weights below are engineering judgement about relative effort, not prices, to show where a budget goes.
| Feature | What makes it expensive | Relative effort | In a first version? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Identity, organisations and roles | Every screen and query depends on who may see what; multi-organisation isolation | Medium, rising to high with many organisations | Yes |
| Courses, lessons and enrolment | Ordering, drafts versus published, enrolment rules | Low to medium | Yes |
| Auto-marked quizzes | Question types, attempts, timing, fair re-marking when a question was wrong | Medium | Yes |
| Assignments with manual marking | File uploads, rubrics, feedback, deadlines and extensions | Medium | Often |
| Gradebook and progress | Derived from attempt history; exports; weighting policies | Medium | Yes, simple |
| Video lessons | Encoding, adaptive streaming, access control; bought from a provider, not built | Low to build, ongoing to run | Yes, through a provider |
| Payments and subscriptions | Checkout, refunds, access tied to payment status, invoices for organisations | Medium | If learners pay directly |
| Live classes | Scheduling, time zones, a video-call provider, recordings | Medium to high | Rarely |
| Certificates | Templates, verification links | Low | Second release |
| Standards: LTI, SCORM, xAPI | Each must be implemented and tested against the platforms your buyers use | High, per standard | Only if a first customer requires it |
| Reporting and analytics | Event tracking, aggregation, per-organisation dashboards | Medium to high | Basic completion only |
| AI tutor or adaptive practice | Model routing, answer checking, retrieval, evaluation, token cost control | High | Only if it is the product |
The pattern: the cheap features are the ones every LMS has, and the expensive ones are integrations and intelligence. That is why a first version with standard modules and no standards integrations can cost a small part of a full LMS.
Why do LTI, SCORM and SSO add so much?
Because each one is a contract with someone else's software. LTI, maintained by 1EdTech, "allows learning management systems (LMS) or platforms to integrate remote tools and content in a standard way"; version 1.3 builds on OAuth 2.0 and JSON Web Tokens, and LTI Advantage adds grade passback, roster provisioning and deep linking. Each of those services has to be built, then tested against every LMS your customers use. Single sign-on is similar: each identity provider behaves slightly differently. Price these as separate lines, and add them when a paying customer asks, not before.
What are the running costs of an LMS after launch?
Four lines that the build quote does not cover: video, payment fees, AI tokens and upkeep. Budget them from day one.
- Video. On Mux's published pricing, on-demand encoding at basic 1080p quality is free, storage is $0.003 per minute per month, and delivery is $0.001 per minute after 100,000 free minutes a month (Mux pricing). Other providers price differently; the point is that video is a metered cost, not a one-off.
- Payment fees. On Stripe's published US pricing, a domestic card payment costs 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe pricing), so a $49 course costs about $1.72 to collect.
- AI tokens. An AI tutor bills per request to a model provider. PadhAI, the AI tutoring platform RAITHub built, uses a 70/20/10 model router to keep that line down; the techniques are in how to reduce OpenAI API cost.
- Upkeep. Security patches, dependency upgrades, hosting and the fixes real learners find. A live product always needs some developer time.
A worked video example, using the Mux prices above: 200 hours of lessons is 12,000 minutes, so storage is about $36 a month. If 5,000 learners each watch 60 minutes a month, that is 300,000 minutes; after the 100,000 free minutes, delivery is about $200 a month. The same arithmetic, in TypeScript:
interface VideoPricing {
storagePerMinuteMonth: number // USD
deliveryPerMinute: number // USD, after the free allowance
freeDeliveryMinutes: number // per month
}
export function monthlyVideoCost(libraryMinutes: number, minutesWatched: number, p: VideoPricing): number {
const storage = libraryMinutes * p.storagePerMinuteMonth
const delivery = Math.max(0, minutesWatched - p.freeDeliveryMinutes) * p.deliveryPerMinute
return Math.round((storage + delivery) * 100) / 100
}
// Mux's published on-demand prices, checked 29 September 2026.
monthlyVideoCost(12_000, 300_000, {
storagePerMinuteMonth: 0.003,
deliveryPerMinute: 0.001,
freeDeliveryMinutes: 100_000,
}) // 236
Change the inputs to your own catalogue and audience before you trust the result, and re-check the provider's page: metered prices change.
Is Moodle cheaper than a custom LMS?
For standard courses, almost always. Moodle is distributed under the GNU General Public License (Moodle: License), so there is no licence fee, and its courses, quizzes, assignments and gradebook already exist. Its costs are hosting, administration, upgrades and any custom plugins. A custom LMS earns its higher cost only when your teaching or assessment model is the thing customers pay for.
| If you need | Cheaper route |
|---|---|
| Standard courses, quizzes and grades for your own learners | Moodle, self-hosted or MoodleCloud |
| To sell courses to individuals | A hosted course platform |
| A differentiating tool inside schools' existing LMS | Build the tool only, and launch it through LTI |
| An adaptive or AI-driven learning product | Custom build, scoped to the learning loop first |
How can you lower LMS development cost without cutting quality?
- One organisation type and three roles in the first version: learner, instructor, admin.
- Buy video, email and payments. Build nothing a provider sells.
- No standards until a customer asks. Design the data model so LTI or SCORM can be added.
- Web first. A responsive web app, or a PWA, before any native app. RAITHub builds web applications, not native mobile apps.
- Store attempts as events, so re-marking and new reports never need a rebuild.
- Fixed scope. A written scope with a fixed price moves the overrun risk off your budget.
If AI is part of the plan, its cost drivers are in the cost to build an AI agent and the architecture in how to build an AI tutor. For a marketplace of tutors rather than courses, see how to build a tutoring platform like Preply.
What does RAITHub charge to build an LMS?
RAITHub publishes no rates. The process is a free 15-minute technical audit, then a fixed written quote for a defined scope, or a dedicated team on a monthly basis if the product will keep growing. RAITHub does not offer staff augmentation. How the engagement models work is on the pricing page, and the MVP cost estimator gives a quick range for your own scope.
Why RAITHub for this, and when you don't need us
RAITHub built PadhAI, an AI tutoring platform, not a general LMS: 11 services (9 Node/TypeScript, 2 Python), a Socratic tutor with math verification and retrieval-augmented generation (RAG), a 70/20/10 LLM router, one learning experience across a PWA, WhatsApp and Telegram, and 9 payment gateways behind one abstraction. The expensive rows in the feature table, AI and payments, are the ones that project proves. RAITHub's published work does not include an LTI, SCORM or xAPI implementation; those would be estimated as new work. First releases run under MVP development, and you own the code and IP, with an NDA as standard.
You don't need RAITHub if:
- Your courses fit a standard LMS. Use Moodle or a hosted platform and spend the money on content.
- You need course content or instructional design. RAITHub builds the platform, not the curriculum.
- You need a vendor with shipped LTI or SCORM integrations, or native mobile apps. RAITHub cannot show either.
- You need a SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certified vendor. RAITHub is not certified.
If you are budgeting a custom learning product, book the free 15-minute technical audit with your roles, content types and the integrations your buyers ask for. The EdTech page and the EdTech software development guide cover the wider picture.
Cleveroad, ScienceSoft, Mux, Stripe, Moodle and 1EdTech sources checked on 29 September 2026.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to build an LMS?
On 2026 market figures, $40,000 to $300,000 or more. Cleveroad puts a basic learning app at $40,000–$70,000+ and a full-featured LMS at $150,000–$250,000+; ScienceSoft ranges from $40,000 to $300,000+. These are market figures, not RAITHub prices.
How long does it take to build a custom LMS?
Cleveroad's June 2026 guide expects 3–5 months for a basic edtech MVP and 6–9+ months for a custom LMS. A narrow first version with no standards integrations is much smaller.
Which LMS features cost the most?
Integrations and intelligence: LTI, SCORM and xAPI, single sign-on, analytics, live classes and AI tutoring. Courses, enrolment and simple quizzes are the cheaper parts, because every LMS has them.
What does it cost to run an LMS after launch?
Video, payment fees, AI tokens if you use them, hosting and developer upkeep. On Mux's published prices, 12,000 minutes of lessons watched for 300,000 minutes a month comes to about $236 a month for video.
Is it cheaper to use Moodle than build an LMS?
For standard courses, yes. Moodle is under the GNU GPL with no licence fee; you pay for hosting, administration and upgrades. Build custom only when your learning model is the product.
What does RAITHub charge for an LMS?
RAITHub publishes no rates. After a free 15-minute technical audit, it gives a fixed written quote for a defined scope, or proposes a monthly dedicated team.
Related posts
Ready to discuss your project?
Book a free 15-minute technical audit with our engineering team.